top of page

Got Buns, Hun?

If I'm being honest, if it weren't for this quarantine I probably would have never tried this, but I'm pretty thankful that I did! So I have to share! :) We grill A LOT! Not sure about you...but especially in the summer we live outside, so coming inside to do dishes and clean up the kitchen is not fun! (It's never fun, really...) So hamburgers and hotdogs are a weekly thing for us. BUT, not being able to go grab a package of buns has been difficult...


So I made hamburger buns!!! I do use a bread machine for most of my baking needs! (Click on image for more info) Mine is nothing overly fancy but it gets the job done and the breads are delicious.





















And because I HATE scrolling for days just to find the recipe and print it I'm going to give it to you right here!


Whole Wheat Hamburger/Hot Dog Buns (Yields 8 Buns) 1 Cup Water 1 Egg 2 Cups Flour 1 Cup Whole Wheat Flour 3/4 Teaspoon Salt 1/4 Cup Shortening 1/4 Cup Sugar 3 Teaspoons Yeast (For Panasonic machines, use 4 1/2 tsp yeast.) Place all ingredients in bread pan, select Dough setting, and press Start. When dough has risen long enough, the machine will beep. Turn off bread machine, remove bread pan and turn out dough onto a floured board. Gently roll and shape the dough into a 12-inch rope. With a sharp knife, divide dough into 8 pieces for hamburger buns or 12 pieces for hot dog buns. Grease a baking sheet. Roll pieces of dough into balls and slightly flatten for hamburger buns or shape into 6-inch rolls for hot dog buns. Place on prepared baking sheet. Cover and let rise in warm oven 10-15 minutes until almost doubled. (Hint: To warm oven slightly, turn oven on Warm setting for 2 minutes, then turn it off and place covered dough in oven to rise. Remove sheet from oven to preheat.) Preheat oven to 400 F. Bake 12-15 minutes until golden brown. Remove from oven and cool on racks. When ready to use, split buns in half horizontally. These will keep in a plastic bag in the freezer for 3-4 weeks. Recipe Credit: Bread Machine Magic by Linda Rehberg & Lois Conway

One more thing, I'm always afraid of my food getting freezer burned so I line my Ziploc Freezer Bag with parchment paper/freezer paper and then the buns taste like new when you take them back out! :)

My kids currently refuse to eat some of the store-bought breads because it sticks to the roof of their mouth...I can't help but agree that that stuff can't be good... haha! Not to mention, this way we know all of the ingredients are fresh, clean and we get to SMELL it baking!


Leave the candles....BAKE BREAD!! ;)


Happy Baking, Mama! Comment below a picture of your buns!!

Until next time,xx Morgan

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fudge Brownies

I must be honest and tell you I have a really big weakness, well maybe a few. First, give me something sweet and I will love you forever....

Comments


bottom of page